Door manufacturers appointed to £130 million public sector framework

Twenty-seven door manufacturers have won places on a new £130 million framework to supply communal and entrance doors to the public sector.

The Communal Doors, Entrance Doors and Associated Products (C8) framework from LHC allows local authorities, social landlords and other public bodies to source pre-approved specialist suppliers who can supply and fit doorsets and associated door hardware and access control systems, such as vandal-resistant duplex voice door intercoms.

The framework is worth up to £100 million in England, £20 million in Scotland and £10 million in Wales. It covers a range of buildings including multi-occupancy residential, education, local government, police, and fire authority buildings.

Dean Fazackerley, head of technical procurement, said: “This framework has been designed to provide a comprehensive and flexible option for contracting authorities who may need to cover a wide range of projects with different door requirements.

“We’ve set very specific requirements to cover safety and security to drive high standards in public buildings for both fire safety and security. Bi-directional fire testing of fire doors was a mandatory requirement for suppliers, with all fire doorsets that are installed holding certification as a completed assembly.

“Enhanced security testing to PAS24:2016 or equivalent were also an essential for standard composite and timber doors that will be supplied via the framework.”

The framework is split into six lots covering composite and timber doors, both fire and non-fire rated, communal entrance and exit doors in steel, aluminium and timber, and access control.

The full list of appointed companies is: Anglian Windows; Baydale Control Systems; CLC Contractors; CCG (Scotland); CMS Enviro Systems; Diamond Build; F Bamford (Engineering); Graham Holmes Astraseal; Grosvenor Aptec; Gunfire; Harmony Fire; HBS Fabrication Northwest; Horbury Building Systems; Ian Williams; IDM Doors; John A Russell (Joinery); Martec Engineering Group; Nationwide Windows; NEOS Protect; SER Contractor; Shellen Security; Sidey Solutions; Solar Windows; Sovereign Group; Permadoor; Ventro; and Warrior Doors.

The C8 framework will run until June 2025.